Cultural Diversity Studio Awards
2002 — 2004
SPACE Mare Street

SPACE awarded two studios to artists of culturally diverse backgrounds for one year.

Awardees in 2002-3 were Fernando Arias & Carolina Caycedo. Both artists are Columbian. The award aimed to address the under-representation of artists from London’s culturally diverse communities within SPACE Studios.

The 2003-4 winners were Eileen Perrier & Nooshin Farhid.

The award offered two SPACE studios for one year culminating in an exhibition in the new gallery at the TRIANGLE, our new international resource and studio complex. The Cultural Diversity Studio awards were funded by The Arts Council of England, London. The 2003-4 panel were

Yinka Shonibare —Artist

Olu Alake — Diversity Coordinator, Arts Council of England

Steve Ouditt – Education and Research Curator, inIVA

Katharine Stout – Curator (Turner Prize 2002) Tate

Margaret Garlake — Freelance critic and SPACE Trustee

Alice Sharp — Deputy Director, SPACE Studios